Who we are

Greater Milwaukee Synod LogoThe Greater Milwaukee Synod (GMS) is a geographic grouping of congregations, extending from Sheboygan down to the Illinois border and from Lake Michigan to the western edge of Waukesha County.  We are one of 65 synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA).  This synod is made up of 131 congregations and 79,000 baptized members in southeastern Wisconsin led by Bishop Jeff Barrow and a 17-member synod council.

Diverse ministries

Within this territory, faithful ministry takes place in diverse congregational settings that are urban, suburban and rural, worshiping in five different languages on Sunday, including Spanish, Hmong and Lao.

In addition to ministry in congregational settings, we spread the Gospel through:

  • campus ministry sites at Marquette University and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee;
  • specialized ministries such as the Kujichagulia Lutheran Center, the ELCA Urban Outreach Center in Kenosha, Serenity Inns and the Racine Vocational Center;
  • ELCA chaplains serve at hospitals and care facilities such as Luther Manor (Wauwatosa) and Lincoln Lutheran (Racine) and with Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan;
  • and the synod is blessed to have Carthage College in Kenosha, one of 28 ELCA colleges and universities

Reconciling in Christ

At the 1991 Synod Assembly, voting members declared the synod to be Reconciled in Christ, affirming that “gay and lesbian people share with all others the worth that comes from being loved and forgiven children of God.” Learn more »

Anti-Racist Identity

At the 1998 Synod Assembly, voting members created the Anti-Racism Team, charged with working on racial and diversity training because of growing polarization between white persons and people of color, and the rise of hate-based crime and speech in the synod territory. In 2003 the voting members voted to call the Anti-Racism Team to serve as a resource to help congregations begin the lift up cross-cultural and diversity concerns as well as promote anti-racism training for synod rostered leaders, staff and congregational members. Learn more »

Synod staff »

The Greater Milwaukee Synod is lead by a staff of eight professionals called together in Christ to serve, connect and lead. The synod staff is guided …

Synod council »

Officers Bishop: The Rev. Jeff Barrow Vice President: Mr. Scott Manske (Martin Luther, Milwaukee) Secretary: Mr. Matthew Brockmeier (St. Paul’s, Random Lake) Treasurer: Mr. Lee Johnston (Redeemer, Milwaukee) Council Members Milwaukee I: Ms. Ar Lee (Ascension, Milwaukee) Milwaukee II: …

Mission clusters »

The synod is divided into 10 mission clusters: Kenosha/West Racine – Dean Stacy Seger Clump – Dean Lake Country – Deans Robert Thays and Larry Harpster Milwaukee I – …

Committees and Task Forces »

Anti-Racism Team Rev. Paula Canby                   Co-Convenors     (262) 334-2620      paulacanby@att.net Rev. Viviane Thomas-Breitfeld        Co-Convenors     (262) 781-0672     prviviane@gmail.com   Disability Action Team Rev. John Gugel              …

Nominating Committee »

Greater Milwaukee Synod Nominating Information for 2014 As the Synod Assembly is knocking at our door, we are seeking individuals to answer the call from the …

Synod stewardship team »

The Synod Stewardship Team is responsible for offering stewardship education and resources for congregations and their leaders. The team meets monthly to plan stewardship gatherings involving local …

Greater Milwaukee Synod Logo
Congregations »

Search through the congregations within the Greater Milwaukee Synod

Rostered Leaders »

Access our new online directory here! We’ve moved over to our new online directory.  We think you’ll find that it’s nice to put a face and …

Map & directions to Synod office »

Want to stop by and say hi? We can be found at 1212 South Layton Boulevard, Milwaukee, WI 53215. The synod office is typically open Monday …